Main Menu

Route 66 State Park

Park Information

Travel through history on The Mother Road at Route 66 State Park. Route 66 captured Americans’ imagination and exposed millions of citizens to small towns and different cultures across the country. Sample a slice of that at Route 66 State Park’s visitor center, which has displays showcasing the road. The visitor center is the former Bridgehead Inn, a 1935 roadhouse that sat on the original Route 66. The park’s location, close to metro St. Louis provides visitors with a quick getaway to nature. More than 40 types of birds have been identified in the park and picnic sites are sprinkled throughout the park.

Park Hours

Park Grounds
7 a.m. to one-half hour after sunset, daily, year-round
Gates open and close at these times.

Boat Launch hours

7 a.m. to one-half hour after sunset, daily, year-round
Gates open and close at these times.

Visitor Center hours

  • March through November
    9 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. daily
    Cosed Thanksgiving day
  • December through February
    Closed
Sometime between 1936 and 1938, the Missouri State Society Daughters of the American Revolution published “The Old Tavern; Book of Recipes,” which contained more than 700 recipes from DAR members and the J. Huston Tavern at Arrow Rock State Historic Site. The recipes offered a unique glimpse into our food culture during the early years of the 20th century. On page 36 is a recipe for buttermilk biscuits: “Add to ½ sifter of flour, 1 scant tsp. soda, ¼ tsp salt, 2 level tsp. baking powder. Sift into mixing bowl. Cut in with fork 2 heaping tbsp. lard, 1pt. buttermilk. Turn onto floured board, knead to soft dough, Roll 3/8 inch thick. Bake in greased pan in hot oven. 30 biscuits.” You can try the recipe itself or enjoy the fine food served today at the J. Huston Tavern, the oldest continually operating restaurant west of the Mississippi. For more information, visit http://www.mostateparks.com/park/arrow-rock-state-historic-site.