Main Menu

St. Francois State Park

Park Information

The forested ridges and cool hollows of St. Francois State Park offer visitors a retreat from everyday life. Three hiking trails, including one that allows equestrian access, wind through the forested hills and glades of the Coonville Creek Wild Area. Easy access to the Big River makes St. Francois State Park ideal for canoeing and floating and the many shaded picnic sites and two covered shelters make the park perfect for family gatherings. Overnight guests can choose from more than 100 campsites, in campgrounds with modern restrooms, hot showers, and laundry facilities.

Park Hours

Park Grounds

  • Summer Hours (On-Season)
    April through October
    7 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily
    The entrance gate closes at 10 p.m.
  • Winter Hours (Off-Season)
    November through March
    8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily
    The entrance gate closes at 6 p.m.

Address

8920 US Highway 67 North
Bonne Terre, MO 63628-3598

Phone number

  • Park Office: (573) 358-2173
Sometime between 1936 and 1938, the Missouri State Society Daughters of the American Revolution published “The Old Tavern; Book of Recipes,” which contained more than 700 recipes from DAR members and the J. Huston Tavern at Arrow Rock State Historic Site. The recipes offered a unique glimpse into our food culture during the early years of the 20th century. On page 36 is a recipe for buttermilk biscuits: “Add to ½ sifter of flour, 1 scant tsp. soda, ¼ tsp salt, 2 level tsp. baking powder. Sift into mixing bowl. Cut in with fork 2 heaping tbsp. lard, 1pt. buttermilk. Turn onto floured board, knead to soft dough, Roll 3/8 inch thick. Bake in greased pan in hot oven. 30 biscuits.” You can try the recipe itself or enjoy the fine food served today at the J. Huston Tavern, the oldest continually operating restaurant west of the Mississippi. For more information, visit http://www.mostateparks.com/park/arrow-rock-state-historic-site.